General note:
The Architecture programme does not require students to purchase textbooks, however, some general reference books not specific to any course which are recommended to be purchased if students have the resources to do so, as they will be useful for the entire course of study and beyond. These are listed as recommended purchases in the list below. Prescribed readings will be made available through the Wits Library or through course readers, which are already covered by fees. Readings which will be issued by lecturers in each course and readily available either through the Wits Library or course readers are not listed below; these will be issued in course outlines or reading lists in the first two weeks of classes. Students may wish to consult with their lecturers before making any purchases, even if they are recommended.
Some materials for drawing, model-making and fabrication will also be made available, paid for by student fees. However, additional material purchases will likely be necessary throughout the year. These will be elaborated within each course.
GENERAL REFERENCES
ARPL1000 Architectural Design and Theory I
ARPL1001 Theory and Practice of Construction I
ARPL1028 Design Representation I
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Architects' Data by
Neufert's Architects' Data is an essential reference for the initial design and planning of a building project. It provides, in one concise volume, the core information needed to form the framework for the more detailed design and planning of any building project. Organised largely by building type, it covers the full range of preliminary considerations, and with over 6200 diagrams it provides a mass of data on spatial requirements. Most illustrations are dimensioned and each building type includes plans, sections, site layouts and design details. An extensive bibliography and a detailed set of metric/ imperial conversion tables are included. Since it was first published in Germany in 1936, Ernst Neufert's handbook has been progressively revised and updated through 39 editions and many translations. This fourth English language edition is translated from the 39th German edition, and represents a major new edition for an international, English speaking readership. Reviews of the Previous Edition: "Neufert's Architects' Data was the first book I bought when I started my studies in architecture. It was invaluable for me then and it is still a useful aid in my designs." --Cesar Pelli "With this thorough rewrite Neufert has produced yet again an invaluable reference book." --The Architects' Journal
The Architect's Studio Companion by
The time-saving resource every architect needs The Architect's Studio Companion is a robust, user-friendly resource that keeps important information at your fingertips throughout the design process. It includes guidelines for the design of structure, environmental systems, parking, accessibility, and more. This new sixth edition has been fully updated with the latest model building codes for the U.S. and Canada, extensive new information on heating and cooling systems for buildings, and new structural systems, all in a form that facilitates rapid preliminary design. More than just a reference, this book is a true companion that no practicing architect or student should be without. This book provides quick access to guidelines for systems that affect the form and spatial organization of buildings and allows this information to be incorporated into the earliest stages of building design. With it you can: Select, configure, and size structural systems Plan for building heating and cooling Incorporate passive systems and daylighting into your design Design for parking and meet code-related life-safety and accessibility requirements Relying on straightforward diagrams and clear written explanations, the designer can lay out the fundamental systems of a building in a matter of minutes--without getting hung up on complicated technical concepts. By introducing building systems into the early stages of design, the need for later revisions or redesign is reduced, and projects stay on time and on budget. The Architect's Studio Companion is the time-saving tool that helps you bring it all together from the beginning.
Sun, Wind and Light by
An updated guide to designing buildings that heat with the sun, cool with the wind, and light with the sky. This fully updated Third Edition covers principles of designing buildings that use the sun for heating, wind for cooling, and daylight for natural lighting. Using hundreds of illustrations, this book offers practical strategies that give the designer the tools they need to make energy efficient buildings. Hundreds of illustrations and practical strategies give the designer the tools they need to make energy efficient buildings. Organized to quickly guide the designer in making buildings respond to the sun, wind and light.
Architecture by
THE CLASSIC ARCHITECTURAL REFERENCE, UPDATED WITHCONTEMPORARY EXAMPLES AND INTERACTIVE RESOURCES For more than forty years, the beautifully illustratedArchitecture: Form, Space, and Order has served as theclassic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architecturaldesign. The updated and revised Fourth Edition features thefundamental elements of space and form and is designed to encouragecritical thought in order to promote a more evocative understandingof architecture. Architecture: Form, Space, and Order distills complexconcepts of design into a clear focus and brings difficultabstractions to life. The book explains form and space in relationto light, view, openings, and enclosures and explores theorganization of space, and the elements and relationships ofcirculation, as well as proportion and scale. In addition, thetext?s detailed illustrations demonstrate the conceptspresented and reveal the relationships between fundamental elementsof architecture through the ages and across cultures. This edition includes an access card with a redemption code forthe online Interactive Resource Center, which featuresthirty-five animations, flashcards of key architectural terms, andan image gallery showcasing hundreds of photos that enrich thebook?s content.
Architectural Graphics by
The bestselling guide to architectural drawing, with new information, examples, and resources Architectural Graphics is the classic bestselling reference by one of the leading global authorities on architectural design drawing, Francis D.K. Ching. Now in its sixth edition, this essential guide offers a comprehensive introduction to using graphic tools and drafting conventions to translate architectural ideas into effective visual presentations, using hundreds of the author's distinctive drawings to illustrate the topic effectively. This updated edition includes new information on orthographic projection in relation to 3D models, and revised explanations of line weights, scale and dimensioning, and perspective drawing to clarify some of the most difficult concepts. New examples of modern furniture, APA facilities, and presentation layout provide more up-to-date visuals, and the Reference Center features all new animations, videos, and practice exercises. Architectural graphics are key tools for conveying design through representation on paper or on screen, and this book is the ultimate guide to mastering the skill, then applying your talent to create more effective design communication. Understand multiview, paraline, and perspective drawing Master interior sections using a variety of techniques Render tonal value, enhance depth, and convey illumination Develop professional-quality layouts for presentations Architectural graphics both inform the design process and serve as the means by which a design is interpreted and built. Complete mastery of the tools and conventions is essential to the successful outcome of any project, and mistakes can cause confusion, time delays, increased costs, and possible catastrophe. Architectural Graphics is the comprehensive guide to professional architectural drawing, with insight from a leading authority in the field.
LAPTOPS & COMPUTERS
The School of Architecture & Planning has 3 computer labs, one of which has over 100 computers and is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for student use. Thus, purchasing a laptop is not required, as all students can access our machines when needed.
If you prefer to have your own laptop, and have the resources to buy one, we strongly recommend you wait until you have a better understanding of the software you’ll be using and the requirements it places on the machine before buying. Architectural software can be memory-heavy, and it would be unwise to buy a laptop ill-fitted for the task. As an educational institution, we are not in a position to make commercial recommendations. However, we can recommend that anyone who is planning to purchase a laptop look for one with sufficient RAM (ideally 16GB or higher), a newest generation processor, a good graphics card and a larger screen (15 to 17 inches) to handle the graphic software you will likely use. High-end specs will, of course, increase cost, so we recommend you consult with our IT officer after you arrive at the School before purchasing.