Skip to main content

Science - Biophy Library - Chemistry Libguide: Electronic Resources

This will provide a very useful and helpful guide to the literature of Chemistry for students, staff and researchers alike.

Access to Electronic Resources

Off-campus users (staff and students) should note that they will be prompted for their staff or student number and library PIN to access the library resources.

Database security certificate issues:

Receiving the below message when trying to access certain databases? Refer to the above attachment.

   OR     

Bibliographic/Citation Databases

Video databases/content

            

JoVE Journal Chemistry

JoVE Chemistry includes techniques for fundamental and applied research in organic, inorganic, analytical, and physical chemistry.

JoVE is the world's first and only peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. JoVE creates scientific videos for two unique resources: JoVE Video Journal and JoVE Science Education Library.

Search for digital materials and digital content

This search tool allows you to find content from the library catalogue, all the library’s databases, journals, ebooks, the institutional repository WIReDSpace, and unique digital collections only available in the Wits library.

Search for library materials and digital content:
Encore Search:

  Advanced Search   Find e-books & e-journals    Search the catalogue  

Theses & Dissertations

     

For more information on Open Access ETDs see the following LibGuide: Scholarly Research & Related Resources. Refer to the page/tab on Research Support/Resources:ETDs and Scholarly Repositories.

Loading ...

Google Scholar

SciFinder

ABOUT

SciFinder® is your portal to chemistry and related information providing easy access to the most trusted collection of chemical substances, reactions and literature references in the world.

REGISTRATION

Access toSciFinder is by username and password, and is restricted to currently registered staff and students of the university. In order to use SciFinder, you need to register and create an account for yourself.  See SciFinder Registration. Bear in mind that you need to be on-campus when you register for access so that the database can authenticate you.

To log in to the database itself, go to SciFinder

 

SciFinder TUTORIALS

 

SCIFINDER COMPONENTS

SciFinder has five components:

Chemical Abstracts (CAplus)
A bibliographic database that indexes journal articles and patent records, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations and meeting abstracts

CAS registry
A comprehensive list of organic and inorganic substances and sequences dating from 1957 - present

CASREACT
A database of single and multi-step reactions indexed from journal articles and patents dating from 1840- present

CHEMCATS
A catalogue of commercially available chemicals from more than 900 commercial chemical suppliers

CHEMLIST
A database of substances regulated national and international agencies. Includes the EINECS and Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA) Inventory

Some Popular Science Journals