Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Monetary Fund e-Library
The IMF eLibrary provides powerful and convenient online access to the complete collection of authoritative global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
With more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF’s statistical databases, the IMF eLibrary is an important resource for economic study and analysis.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
An online collection of analytical databases of South African socio-economic indicators. EasyData is divided into the following 4 data collections:
RSA Economic Indicators - A comprehensive set of indicator time-series covering all aspects of the South African economy.
RSA Standardised Industry - A unique, disaggregated and consistent long-term view of South Africa s economic structure by industry.
RSA International Trade - South Africa s International trade by destination and origin at the HS 8-digit and SIC 4-digit levels.
RSA Regional Indicators - A comprehensive collection of sub-national socio-economic and demographic statistics.
Data collection is the systematic recording of information; data analysis involves working to uncover patterns and trends in datasets; data interpretation involves explaining those patterns and trends.
Scientists interpret data based on their background knowledge and experience; thus, different scientists can interpret the same data in different ways.
By publishing their data and the techniques they used to analyze and interpret those data, scientists give the community the opportunity to both review the data and use them in future research.
Gapminder: The Foundation developed the Trendalyzer software, which was acquired by Google in March 2007. The current version of Trendalyzer is Gapminder World, a web-service displaying time series of development statistics for all countries and many sub-national regions. Gapminder world uses "Google Motion Charts" to power its graphics.
Data Analysis Software
Contact your Data Services Librarian for assistance.
R is open source statistical analysis and visualization software.
Atlas.ti is one of the CAQDAS (Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis Software) programs. It is a useful tool for supporting the process of qualitative data analysis. You will be able to analyze textual, graphical, audio and video data.