🎓 In the previous unit, we explored databases like Web of Science and EBSCOhost, learning how to search for academic sources effectively. Now, let’s take a closer look at two important types of digital resources you’ll find in these databases: e-books and e-journals! These are essential for your assignments, projects, and research.
🔹 An e-book (electronic book) is a digital version of a printed book that you can read online or download.
🔹 E-books contain text, images, and sometimes multimedia, making them easy to access anytime.
🔹 Examples of e-books available through Wits databases:
💡 Tip: E-books are great for research as they are always available and can be searched by keywords instantly!
Follow the steps below to access e-books:
📌 Open your web browser and go to 👉 https://www.wits.ac.za/library/
💡 Tip: Bookmark this page for quick access!
📌 On the homepage, find and click on "e-books &e-journals" 📂
📌 If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Wits Student ID and password 🔐
💡 Tip: Use your Wits email username (e.g., studentnumber@students.wits.ac.za) and password.
📌 Activate the e-books only icon.
In the search bar, type in your book title (e.g., "Sustainable Construction") and hit Enter. 🔍
📌 Click on the book title to open the details page.
📌 Click “Read Online” or “Download PDF” to access the book.
💡 Tip: Some e-books allow full downloads, while others can only be read online.
💭 Having trouble accessing e-books? Try these solutions:
🔹 Problem: Can't log in?
🔹 Problem: Book won't download?
📌 Go to 👉 https://browzine.com/libraries/3004/subjects
💡 Tip: You can also download the BrowZine app on your phone! 📱
📌 Click “Log In” and enter your Wits Student ID and password 🔐
💡 Tip: Use your Wits email username (e.g., studentnumber@students.wits.ac.za) and password.
📌 Use the search bar to type the journal title (e.g., Construction Management & Economics)
📌 OR browse journals by subject (e.g., Engineering & Technology)
💡 Tip: Use categories to discover relevant journals in your field!
📌 Click on the journal title to browse the latest issues.
📌 Click “Read Article” to open full text.
📌 Click “Save to My Shelf” to organize your journals.
💡 Tip: BrowZine lets you create a personal library of favorite journals!
🔹 An e-journal (electronic journal) is an online version of a scholarly journal, containing peer-reviewed research articles.
🔹 E-journals are published regularly (weekly, monthly, or annually) and are essential for academic research.
🔹 Examples of e-journals available through Wits databases:
💡 Tip: E-journals provide cutting-edge research and the latest discoveries in your field!
Follow these easy steps to access e-journals through the Wits Library website and BrowZine:
📌 Open your web browser and go to 👉 https://www.wits.ac.za/library/
💡 Tip: Bookmark this page for quick access!
📌 On the homepage, find and click on "e-books &e-journals" 📂
📌 Activate the e-journals only icon.
📌 In the search bar, type the journal name (e.g., Journal of Construction Engineering and Management) and hit Enter.
💡 Tip: If you don’t know the journal name, search by subject or keywords!
📌 Click on the journal title to open the journal’s page.
📌 Click on the database link (e.g., EBSCOhost, ScienceDirect, Taylor & Francis) to access full-text articles.
💡 Tip: Each journal may be available on multiple databases – choose one that fits your research needs!
📌 You can:
✅ Browse by volume and issue 📆
✅ Search within the journal using keywords 🔎
💡 Tip: Use filters (year, author, subject) to refine your search!
📌 Click “Download PDF” to save the article to your device 📩
📌 Click “Cite” to generate an APA/Harvard citation 📑
💡 Tip: Always check copyright restrictions before downloading!