LibGuides: Commerce Law and Management: Postgraduate Resources: Electronic Databases

Theses & Dissertations

e-Wits Catalogue
Both Print & Electronic Theses & Dissertations completed at Wits can be located via the e-Wits catalogue. To seach only for online theses: Choose the ADVANCED SEARCH option. You can search by Author, Title or Subject. Select THESIS from the MATERIAL TYPE box.
WIReDSpace
Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETDs) completed at Wits can be searched on WIReDSpace (Wits Institutional Repository on DSpace). Theses/Dissertations can be browsed by Issue Date, Authors, Titles and Subjects.

National ETD Portal (Nexus)
South African theses & dissertations.
.
Union Catalogue of Theses and Dissertations (UCTD)
Available via SABINET. Bibliographic records of theses and dissertations (Doctoral and Masters level) submitted to South African universities since 1918 – updated daily.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select ProQuest Dissertations
NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations)
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD.org)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
The OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories around the world.
DATAD-R (Database of African Theses & Dissertations including Research)
DART-Europe E-theses portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. Open Access.
Dissertation.com
Dissertation.com, an imprint of Universal-Publishers, was established in 1997 to provide students, researchers, and the general public with low cost access to important academic work.

For more information on Open Access ETDs see the following LibGuide: Scholarly Research & Related Resources.

Core Multi-disciplinary Databases

Off-campus users will require a library pin code. Below are links to multidisciplinary databases:

EbscoHost
Use Ebscohost Web to select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
To search within a single database, click the database name.
Emerald
Provides access to more than 20,000 management articles with an archive stretching back to 1994
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites
ISI Web of Science
An academic citation index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions.
JSTOR
An academic journal archive which includes over 140 economics journals
Proquest
ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – have automatically converted to unlimited access for that period
Sabinet African Journals
Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service — over 500 journal titles in 10 collections are available for individuals, corporates, universities, government departments, research institutions and law firms
SA Media
A full-text collection of South African publications - chiefly newspapers and periodicals - from 1978 onwards - See more at: http://www.wits.ac.za/library/online-resources/databases/#s
Science Direct
Since its commercial launch in 1999, ScienceDirect as a multi-disciplinary database has evolved from a web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world's largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Also covers Arts, Humanities and social sciences. Full text coverage of all Elsevier journals from date of inception to the present. Excludes association titles.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It s designed to find the information scientists need. Quick, easy and comprehensive, Scopus provides superior support of the literature research process.
SpringerLINK
A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer

Financial Databases

IMF Online Statistical Data

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. Datasets include direction of trade statistics; global, regional and country financial, investment and balance of payment data

IRESS Expert

A South African financial reporting database; provides historical and fundamental information on South African and international listed and unlisted companies. Covers published financials from 1988, standardized financials from 1971, and preliminary and interim financials.
** Access is limited to ten concurrent users. Kindly log out at the end of your session.

BankFocus
A global database of banks' financial statements, ratings and intelligence from Fitch. Moody's, Standard & Poor's and Capital Intelligence. Includes risk profiles, economic and financial country-reports, stock data for listed banks, original filings, detailed bank structures, business and M&A news.

EquityRT
A global financial markets, company and economic research data platform. Provides detailed information for over 122 000 listed companies from 130 stock exchanges, plus over 21 000 economic data series from 70 sources for over 250 countries. Company information includes market data (price data and estimates), shareholding and ownership, company news, currencies, commodities, indices, fundamental analysis, peer analysis and stock screening. The wide range of economic data includes economic time series data, economic news and publications, and an economic calendar tracking release dates of key economic data events. Note: No passwords required. Click on the "Sign in" button to begin.

Osiris
Financial information on 65,000 listed and major unlisted/delisted companies worldwide (51,000 are non-US companies). Includes: standardised and "as reported" financials, SEC filings, detailed earnings estimates as well as recommendations, ownership, stock data, news and ratings. * Note: access to this database is limited to 2 simultaneous users.

Quantec EasyData ** First-time users will need to register on the site to gain access
An online collection of analytical databases of South African socio-economic indicators. EasyData is divided into the following 4 data collections:

SA Economic Indicators - indicator time-series covering all aspects of the S.A. economy.
SA Standardised Industry - disaggregated, consistent long-term view of S.A. economic structure by industry.
SA International Trade - S.A. International trade by destination and origin at the HS 8-digit and SIC 4-digit levels.
SA Regional Indicators - sub-national socio-economic and demographic statistics

LAW Databases

Constitutional Law of South Africa (CLOSA) (Bishop, Woolman eds.)

South African

Mylexisnexis -Please note that in order to access this database you will be required to "Register" with your Wits e-mail address . (this will be your UserName/ID). Create your own unique password. Once registration is complete you will receive a verification e-mail on your Wits e-mail address. Check all your e-mail folders including spam.

NetLaw

Parliamentary Bills
Provincial Gazettes
Search across all SABINET Legal Products
SACat
Sabinet African Journals (formerly known as SA ePublications)
SA Media
SANB

Juta online publications
SAFLII
South African Law Reform Commission

International
Westlaw
Nexis Uni (formerly known as LexisNexis Academic)

Heinonline

JSTOR