LibGuides: WHSL e-Resources in Health Care: P: databases beginning with P

P

The databases are being arranged alphabetically in subpages. Please see the drop down menu under "Databases"

PLEASE NOTE :

We are experiencing problems with remote access to PubMed via any of the libguides or library links. We have escalated the problem to Library Computer Services who are working on the problem. In the interim until there is a solution for remote access( not on Wits Network or Campuses ) please use the url below

( Click on the URL or copy/type the exact address into the browser bar)

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=izawitlib

PDQ Cancer Information Summaries [Internet].
The PDQ cancer information summaries are peer-reviewed, evidence-based summaries on topics including adult and pediatric cancer treatment, supportive and palliative care, screening, prevention, genetics, and complementary and alternative medicine. There are versions for patients and professionals. The summaries come from the National Cancer Institute's comprehensive cancer database, PDQ (Physician Data Query). [NIH]
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database of over 18000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines
Physiopedia
Physiotherapy knowledge
PillBox
The pill-identification tool is under construction. It provides a quick way to identify pill from basic information such as colour, shape, etc. It is being developed by the National Library of Medicine.
Plain English Campaign
Help with English writing style and grammar
POPLINE
Reproductive health information - The POPLINE website retired on September 1, 2019. See alternative resources from the link.
PressReader
Online access to thousands of local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages in full-colour, full-page format. Holds a rolling backfile of up to 90-days.
Students and staff can now access 7250+ full page, full colour publications via the Library here, or download the app to read them on your mobile device.
ProQuest
Search here for health and medicine, as well as theses and dissertations. Includes books and conference proceedings.
Provincial Gazettes
The Provincial Gazettes provide access to the full text South African Provincial Gazettes. Can be limited to specific province.
psycARTICLES
Full text access to journals from the American Psychological Association and the Canadian Psychological Association. Covers all aspects of the psychological and behavioural sciences and related fields such as education, nursing, business and neuroscience.
PsychiatryOnline
A collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Includes DSM-IV; APA Practice Guidelines; textbooks, journals and self-assessment.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Some content overlap with PsychInfo.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
International literature in psychology and related behavioural and social sciences, including psychiatry, neuro-psychology, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
PsycTESTS
Search for tests and measures, most of which are available in full text.
PsycTHERAPY
A collection of video-recorded psychotherapy demonstrations. Useful tool for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice, and for education about psychology. Includes transcripts and a searchable index.
PTNow
Tools for advancing Physical Therapy. Includes clinical summaries, clinical cases, and clinical tools. This is a small resource now but more information is being added.
PubChem BioAssay
Consists of deposited bioactivity data and descriptions of bioactivity assays used to screen the chemical substances contained in the PubChem Substance database, including descriptions of the conditions and the readouts (bioactivity levels) specific to the screening procedure.
PubChem Compound
PContains unique, validated chemical structures (small molecules) that can be searched using names, synonyms or keywords. The compound records may link to more than one PubChem Substance record if different depositors supplied the same structure. These Compound records reflect validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.
PubChem Substance
PubChem Substance records contain substance information electronically submitted to PubChem by depositors. This includes any chemical structure information submitted, as well as chemical names, comments, and links to the depositor's web site.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 20 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to free full text articles as well as links to WHSL's subscribed content.
PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).