Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases are being arranged alphabetically in subpages. Please see the drop down menu under "Databases"
Reaxys provides user-friendly access to experimentally validated data about chemical structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and properties. Includes medicinal chemistry.
Off Campus users need to register on the publisher's website using a Wits e-mail address.
A source of experimentally validated data about chemical structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and properties. It is made up of three chemistry databases:
Beilstein - information on the structures, reactions,and properties of organic carbon compounds, drawn from the journal literature back to the 18th century.
Gmelin - information on structures and properties of inorganic and metal-organic compounds, drawn from the journal and patent literature back to the early 19th century.
Patent Chemistry Database - a new file of organic chemistry information drawn from selected English-language chemical patents (US, WO, EP, 1976- ). Additional historical (1869-1980) patent coverage comes from the Beilstein and Gmelin files.
Available only until the end of 2013.
Retrospective Government Gazette Archive
The Sabinet Retrospective Government Gazette Archive contains more than 22 000 Government Gazettes covering the period 1910 to 1993.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
The Royal Society for Chemistry is a major publisher and provider of chemical information. Includes MedChemComm; Molecular BioSystems. Includes full text journals, books, and Chemspider with comprehensive compound data
From National Library of Meidince's Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications RxClass allows users to search and browse drug classes and their RxNorm drug members through a simple Web interface