LibGuides: WHSL e-Resources in Health Care: C: databases beginning with C

Databases in alphabetical order

Electronic databases by title

Terms and conditions of use

The license agreements governing the electronic resources available through the University of the Witwatersrand Library permit the content to be used for non-commercial purposes only, by authorized staff and students of the University. The systematic downloading, distribution, printing or retention of substantial portions of content , such as entire journal issues, or the transmitting of online content to mailing lists, is strictly forbidden. Breaches of the University’s contractual arrangements with publishers could result in the suspension of access to the resource for the entire University community.

Remote Access to most of the electronic resources is available to current staff and students of the University.Off-campus users should note that they will be prompted for their staff- or student-number and Library PIN. For additional assistance, ask your e-Resources Librarian (Ms Khosi Mathole 011 717-2277).

CAS Registry and CAS Registry numbers
Chemical Abstract Services: Site of the American Chemical Society. Only available via Scifinder and only with username and password available from the Electronic Resources Librarian (Jo-Anne.king at wits.ac.za)
more...less...
https://0-scifinder.cas.org.innopac.wits.ac.za/
CDC Wonder
Provides access to a wide array of public health information from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Features - Data
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - data and statistics
Chemspider
Free chemical structure database
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialities in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customised patient education handouts and more. You will ensure that your care teams have access to evidence-based information, so they can answer complex questions related to their patients' conditions. For full access to all features you will need to register from a Wits (on campus) computer using your wits email details and activate the remote access option for 90 days. A link is then sent to your Wits email address which needs to be activated within 60 minutes of your registration. Thereafter you will be able to login remotely using your own ID and password. You will be required to reactivate remote access at a Wits networked computer after every 90 days using your wits email details.
NB CLINICALKEY DOES WORK ON IPADS OR ANDROID TABLETS, BUT WITHOUT FULL FUNCTIONALITY
ClinicalKey Student
Centralized hub of learning resources and tools. ALLOWS DOWNLOAD OF BOOKS FOR OFF-LINE USE & NOTE TAKING.
TO REGISTER GO TO https://www.clinicalkey.com/student/registration
Link to CK registration video: https://web.microsoftstream.com/video/dbec26bc-3a7d-4762-9eb5-2ab3b08cd6dc
For the video in Streams, Students will need to log in to Office365 with their Wits credentials to view the video. The video would not be zero-rated.
February 2022 training session link:
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/5F7mrnr6TxLRgEyDqGAPGk-gpqXeh1qjneIyf5bUtCvfBdyFJi_j7j9MK3mNXU-4.fYLkx-giwmh8Xz5P (Passcode: rcZ4?!FD)
more...less...
For the video in Streams, Students will need to log in to Office365 with their Wits credentials to view the video. The video would not be zero-rated.
Training recorded 1 June 2021 10h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/eJ4q-qk8YMjmEv_14rB0K318MSXVOrNypy5ACygyFVFFKu5huYBMZJBGP91hux2k.da_cJC_upQWZu3DN Passcode: W*0@T9CR
4 June 2021 session 16h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/9207UpBrLhpPvaZYxBRSq2LnUmK0yIQpbC-RM6q6MGe08Q9W1llkhjNW5dTQTlMA.W66M4dVthjtn5-Kc Passcode: j0P1&C?&

Earlier training sessions see below under the "more" link
Link to Training -12 May 2021 10h00-11h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/DugnpNyScfFef4BtJmJXSiHuEPkfupV_dMZP6v-E1rM48f0s_Ar2mApQJTPcy5tj.1eXrW_Za4N_ZJb1H Passcode: Z!bFwS3f (Please type the password when prompted, rather than copying and pasting.
Training 13 May 2021 16h00-1700
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/lgwuHTfK-vuK2wAPfGYPFtau8lL3RXZdEn6n04Ouh0aFTYcL-FgPIT0NuU1ycDOf.qzsv8pgnaHlnJoF2 Passcode: Aa*mWY7N (Please do not copy and paste the link, rather type it in when prompted.)
Training recording 9 Feb 2021 15h00
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/RnLbDWje2aZ-bNcGKx2K7A92ComLzZMw0FmQia78pDvOwLqzh0E-G8MdP8MRQxrY.PjUvusoh07yngfoP (Access Passcode: e23c#cC6)

Recorded Zoom Training 26 May 2020 11h00- copy and past link into browser
https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/uulsDZyu5mlJb4n32Vv8QbxiWZTeaaa803IY8_ILxU3PHgGPKuAcWQTLLP0YMVlp Password: 7a*5W@!#
Recording Training session Thursday 28 May 2020 13h00 Copy & Paste link into browser https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/u_d7FpLUrWNIerPK0WeDS6EoRJ66aaa8hiAYr_BfyUhBOxJ_tDipNRsv2_OPtg4x (Access Password: 8U#c$.94)
Clinicalkey Student-Nursing
ClinicalKey Student - Nursing, the platform that supports nursing students and faculty with trusted nursing content and comprehensive learning tools.
Clinical Skills
Clinical Skills gives you convenient access to evidence-based skills and procedures from any computer in your organization. The content has been adapted from the most authoritative resources, fused with insight from leading nursing societies.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A US registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Provided by National Institutes of Health
Cochrane Library
SAMRC subscription for SA.
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; CENTRAL (Controlled Trials); Database of Abstracts of reviews of Effects (DARE). Evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, clinical trials and reviews of effectiveness. Recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
Cochrane Primary Health Care
CORE
Aggregating the world’s open access research papers . Search 125 700 571 open access articles We offer seamless access to millions of open access research papers, enrich the collected data for text-mining and provide unique services to the research community.
Coursera: Medical courses
Free online courses
CREDO reference
A multidisciplinary collection of online reference resources, including major general and subject encyclopaedias, foreign language dictionaries, and biographical sources
Crossref
Includes free lookup for DOIs
Current and Completed Research
An index of South African research projects covering the social sciences, humanities, economic and management sciences. It includes master s and doctoral theses of South African universities, as well as information on research projects from non-governmental organizations, private sector and government departments.