Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Terms and Conditions
Electronic databases by title
Terms and conditions of use
The licence agreements governing the electronic resources available through the University of the Witwatersrand Library permit the content to be used for non-commercial purposes only, by authorised staff and students of the University. The systematic downloading, distribution, printing or retention of substantial portions of content , such as entire journal issues, or the transmitting of online content to mailing lists, is strictly forbidden. Breaches of the University’s contractual arrangements with publishers could result in the suspension of access to the resource for the entire University community.
Remote Access to most of the electronic resources is available to current staff and students of the University. Off-campus users should note that they will be prompted for their staff- or student-number and PIN. For additional assistance, Ask Your Librarian (Khosi 011717-2277)
Databases in alphabetical order
BASE Search Engine
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). It is closest to a one stop search engine for high quality OA research output, previously published in peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
Bates’ Visual Guide
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course and features completely re-shot content and new clinical skills videos.
WORKS BEST WITH MOZILLA FIREFOX or CHROME as your BROWSER
Best Evidence Topics: An evidence-based medicine site for emergency medicine, created at Manchester Royal Infirmary. Comment and contributions from practitioners is welcomed.
Best Evidence Nursing
Free resource for evidence-based nursing
Evidence-based resource for each condition including a summary, definition, aetiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment. There are links to the full text of Martindale. Also includes patient education.
There is BMJ BestPractice app available for Wits users
Best Practice app
Login with your My Best Practice login You create this on the Best Practice site using a Wits-networked device.
PLEASE NOTE: Remote access rights are granted for the remaining duration of the institutional subscription, or for six months (whichever period is shorter). To renew your access, login to My Best Practice.
Bioethics Resources on the Web
From National Institutes of Health in the United States of America. This is a safe site so proceed past the warning page
BMC provides mostly free open-access peer-reviewed biomedical journal research. Some content requires subscription.
British Pharmacopoeia. (BP)
The BP is the official collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances, produced by the British Pharmacopoeia Commission Secretariat of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency.
NB: WORKS BEST WITH recent version of popular browsers, such as Chrome 22, Firefox 27, IE 8, 9 and 10, IE 11 or Safari 7