Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases are being arranged alphabetically in subpages. Please see the drop down menu under "Databases"
Catalogue of theses and dissertations
SABINET African Journals (formerly known as SA ePublications)
Full text collection of South African electronic journals. Includes scholarly publications.
South African Legal information
A union catalogue of all items held in Southern Africa libraries. Includes books, journals, conference proceedings, standards, technical reports and electronic resources that is updated daily.
SAGE Journals Online
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text access to over 400 of the journals published by SAGE from 1999 - present
SAGE Premier Online database.
Your gateway to world-class research journals
Sage Research Methods Core
Sage Research Methods is a tool designed to help researcher explore methods concepts, design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. The core subscription provides access to the e-book, reference and e-journal content only. It focuses specifically on research methodologies, and is not limited to specific disciplines
SA Government Gazettes
Coverage from January 1994. Includes SA Parliamentary Bills from 1999.
SA Government Policy Documents
Draft Bills, Submissions to Parliament, Committee Reports, Speeches by Ministers, and other SA parliamentary documents.
SA Provincial Gazettes
Coverage from September 1995.
ScienceDirect has evolved from a web database of Elsevier Science journals to one of the world s largest providers of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Full text coverage of all Elsevier journals from date of inception to the present.
Supporting resource: To access the recording of ScienceDirect training please follow Recording link
Access Passcode: Elsevier123!
A core research tool for Chemical Abstracts databases. Access to the database is by username and password, and is restricted to currently registered staff and students of the university. To register for your login account, please contact the Jo-Anne King.
Scitable is a free, online educational resource for undergraduate biology students and educators. Currently focused on genetics, Scitable combines authoritative scientific information with social media functionality. Scitable provides students with free online access to more than 180 overviews of key genetics concepts. The overviews are evidence-based and have been vetted by Nature Publishing staff.
The largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Coverage broader than PubMed. Provides citation data and h-index data. Excellent database for physiology.
Includes health sciences, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutics. There are some links to full text. A large part of Embase is included.
South Africa: Department of Health
The Acts can be found under Documents, then Legislation and Regulation links and then Acts .
SPIRIT: Standard Protocol Items: recommendations for Interventional Trials
"An international initiative that aims to improve the quality of clinical trial protocols by defining an evidence-based set of items to address in a protocol."
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Useful for sports medicine and rehabilitation.
A full-text, multi-disciplinary database providing electronic access to all the journals published by Springer.
STAT!Ref includes e-books; and other resources such as Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc3000 for calculators, decision trees, unit and dose converters.
There is a STAT!Ref app available to Wits users.
WORKS Best with Browsers: Google Chrome or Mozilla FireFox
Statistics SA: MBALO Brief (July 2020)
Accessibility to our statistical publications namely Mbalo Brief.
Statistics SA : Stats in brief (2019)
Accessibility to our statistical publications namely Stats in Brief
Evidence-based medical information