LibGuides: Data Management for Wits: Data availability statement

Data Sharing

Data and material sharing: Your Libraries can manage this for you

" Stipulate, at the minimum, that all datasets on which the conclusions of the paper rely must be made available upon request (where ethically appropriate) during consideration of the manuscript (by editors and reviewers) and upon reasonable request immediately upon publication.

Recommend deposition of datasets in public repositories, where available. Datasets in repositories should be bidirectionally linked to the published article in a way that ensures proper attribution of data production. ( Metadata)
Encourage presentation of all other data values in machine readable format in the paper or its supplementary information. Require materials sharing after publication.
Encourage sharing of software and require at the minimum a statement in the manuscript describing if software is available and how it can be obtained."
Principles and Guidelines for Reporting Preclinical Research

Data Use Agreements

Analysis of Data Availability Statements

Data sharing in PLOS ONE: An analysis of Data Availability Statements

A number of publishers and funders, including PLOS, have recently adopted policies requiring researchers to share the data underlying their results and publications. Such policies help increase the reproducibility of the published literature, as well as make a larger body of data available for reuse and re-analysis.In this study, we evaluate the extent to which authors have complied with this policy by analyzing Data Availability Statements from 47,593 papers published in PLOS ONE between March 2014 (when the policy went into effect) and May 2016. Our analysis shows that compliance with the policy has increased, with a significant decline over time in papers that did not include a Data Availability Statement. However, only about 20% of statements indicate that data are deposited in a repository, which the PLOS policy states are the preferred method.Click here.

Researchers making proposals for South Africa NRF funding should be particularly aware that it may impact on their publication choices. It is important that a list of journals be considered and their requirements investigated at the proposal stage, as there might be a need to budget for publication or article processing charges. In addition, preparing a dataset for publication, data management and storage may affect research schedules, staffing needs and budgets that need to be put in the grant proposal.

Check List

Checklist datasets

Checklist datasets provide a cataloguer, rapid summary or baseline inventory a set of named organisms, or taxa. While they may include additional details like local species names or specimen citations, checklists typically categorize information along taxonomic, geographic, and thematic lines, or some combination of the three.Click here.

Checklist for Journal of species lists and distribution.

Check List is a bimonthly peer-reviewed online journal, devoted to publishing lists of species and notes on the geographic distribution of any taxon. These data are essential for studies on biogeography and provide a baseline for the conservation of biodiversity as a whole. The first step to undertaking effective conservation action is to maintain records of the distribution of species. Check List was established to cater to this need by publishing papers on these important inventories.Click here!

Check list of For journal of biodiversity data

Check List is a peer-reviewed, open access, an online journal devoted to publishing Annotated List of Species, Notes on Geographic Distribution of one or a few species, and Distribution Summary of a taxonomic group. These data are essential for studies on biogeography and provide a baseline for the conservation of biodiversity as a whole. The first step to undertaking effective conservation action is to understand species’ geographic distribution. Check List was established to cater to this need by publishing papers on the geographic distribution of species and higher taxonomic groups.Click here!

Guide and checklist to identifying and preparing data for release

The article provides a simple one-page overview of the key considerations for agencies in publishing data in the form of a checklist, as well as more detailed information on each of the key steps, including links to the relevant fact sheets and other useful resources.Click here!

OMICS Studies:How about Metadata Checklist and Data Publications?

Data fully utilized by the community resources promote progress rather than repetition. Effective data sharing can accelerate the transition from data to actionable knowledge, yet barriers to data sharing remain, both technological and procedural. The DELSA community has tackled the sharing barrier by creating a multi-omics metadata checklist for the life sciences. The checklist and associated data publication examples are now jointly published in Big Data and OMICS: A Journal of Integrative Biology. The checklist will enable diverse datasets to be easily harmonized and reused for richer analyses.Click here!

Cell Metabolism Final File Checklist For copyediting and typesetting purposes, the main document must be provided as a modifiable electronic file in a PC-compatible format (preferably a Word file). If your paper was created in LaTeX format, please include the following files: the main .pdf file, the .tex file, as well as all supporting files such as .bbl, .bib., .sty, .bst, etc. Please note that LaTeX submissions require conversion after acceptance, so we ask that you carefully review formulas and mathematical symbols in proofs. For more information on LaTeX submissions, please refer to this
Data selection and appraisal checklist This Selection and Appraisal Checklist provides a set of criteria against which data offered or submitted to the University of Reading Research Data Archive will be assessed. The selection and appraisal criteria are specified in accordance with the Archive Collection Policy. Data offered or submitted to the Archive will be assessed for both eligibility and value. Data must be within the scope of the Collection Policy and of sufficient value to merit inclusion in the Archive. Data judged to be ineligible, trivial, of poor quality or without practical re-use value will not be accepted in the Archive

Definition

Data Privacy and Security – Who, What, When, Why, Where and How? by Uche. M, Mbanaso Executive Director, Centre for Cyberspace Studies, Nasarawa State University, Keffi, Nigeria A practical and usefu lframework

Data availability statements:

Where it is, how long it will be there, what are the terms and conditions under which it can be accessed, why are there restrictions, are they reasonable and can the work still be assessed.
How and in what way can the data be reused
"Data availability statements provide a statement about where data supporting the results reported in a published article can be found - including, where applicable, hyperlinks to publicly archived datasets analyzed or generated during the study."According to The Springer Nature research data.
"Data access statements, also known as data availability statements, are used in publications to describe where supporting data can be found and under what conditions they can be accessed."According to university of Nottingham Research Data Management.

An Example of A Data Availability Statement

An original and uniquely created electronic semi-structured questionnaire was piloted and then sent out using the secure,web-based Research Electronic Data Capture (Redcap), programmer hosted at the University of Witwatersrand. In addition to sociodemographic information,the questionnaire elicited information on participants’ perceptions of the NDSS( Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System) attributes of acceptability (the willingness of providers to participate in the NDSS),flexibility (adaptability to changing circumstances and needs),simplicity (ease of understanding of NDSS forms and processes),timeliness (the speed at which the provider takes the appropriate steps after an event came to her/his attention) and usefulness (whether the data contributes to outbreak response or the prevention and control of communicable diseases or improved public health knowledge).Click here