Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Southern African Agriculture statistics
Local data mainly, remember use the search engine for international data
Protein annotations present in Human Proteinpedia are derived from a number of platforms such as
# Co-immunoprecipitation and mass spectrometry-based protein-protein interaction
# Co-immunoprecipitation and Western blotting based protein-protein interaction
# Fluorescence based experiments
# Mass Spectrometric Analysis
# Protein and peptide microarray
# Western blotting
# Yeast two-hybrid based protein-protein interaction
Wind Atlas For South Africa
A national renewable energy resource database has recently been compiled for South Africa. The renewable resources include: biomass, mini and macro hydro, and solar energy potentials. The South African wind resource energy potential, mean annual and monthly, has been modelled for global (direct plus diffuse) radiation. The model includes the atmospheric components of cloud cover and transmissivity, as well as the geometric component.
TERRASTAT houses databases containing information on major soil constraints, soil in deserts and dryland areas, population distribution, steeplands analysis, land degradation severity and human-induced land degradation due to agricultural activities.
BirdLife Data Zone
provides data on species with access information, maps , sites of important bird areas, and case studies. They have extensive coverage of Africa.
What is interesting however is that they are an great example of citizen science. This aims to collect birdwatcher records for conservation use, as well as to provide a way to store and manage data
The Aquatic Insects and Mites of South Africa
The global Master Change Directory and companion climate diagnostic directory has a truly impresive set of data
For local take a look at the Aquatic Insects and Mites of South Africa, published by Rhodes University of South Africa provides a data checklist of Classes such as Acari, including the order Hydrachnellae of mites, Insecta including the orders - Collembola (springtails), Ephemeroptera (mayflies), Odonata (dragonflies and damselflies), Plecoptera, stoneflies, Orthoptera (crickets and grasshoppers), Hemiptera (true bugs), Coleoptera (beetles), Neuroptera (antlions and lacewings), Megaloptera (dobsonflies, alderflies), Trichoptera (caddisflies), Lepidoptera (butterflies), and Diptera (true flies
For more information on this topic